Final Major Project Presentations – 16th March 2017

Today everybody in year two gathered together in EO.44 to share our ideas for the Final Major Project, to the rest of the year group.

Below is a playlist of all of the presentations, my presentation is video 16.

Overall, I felt that my presentation did not go as well as I had hoped, due to several factors. Although I thought out my ideas and explained them in depth on my powerpoint, I feel that my nerves got the better of me and at the last minute I crumbled a little. I started off the presentation well, however towards the middle I started to go off track and ignore what I had written on my powerpoint as I was so focussed on applying the presentation techniques we had learnt beforehand. Moreover, I began to feel that I was losing people’s attention, especially as Beth and Josh were talking in the front row which was EXTREMELY off putting, which then started to make me panic and continue to lose track of what I was doing and saying. In turn this caused me to skip vital explanations of my ideas and cut the presentation short. I am also not a fan of technology and having waited till nearer the end to present my ideas, I rushed into the presentation as we didn’t have a lot of time and had to ask Lou to set my powerpoint up as I couldnt.

In future, if I am to present again, I wouldn’t have my ideas on a powerpoint, I would have them on a piece of paper to share with my peers, as I don’t feel people understood what I was talking about fully and neither did I at one point! – I also believe that this method will help me to keep track better. I would also not rush into the presentation and take a moment to breathe, in order to calm my nerves and in turn give a better presentation. I also need to learn to ignore people who are talking over the top of me or stop and ask them to be quiet instead of letting it panic me and stop me from delivering to the standard that I know I can.

That said, below is a breakdown of the other presentations that I watched:

Jack Taylor-Balls: (Video 1 on playlist)

IDEA 1 –

  • Musical Theatre Number ‘Saint Jimmy’ – Green Day
  • All boy number
  • Main Vocalist is Tom Barber
  • Wants the number to come at the end of an act
  • Wants the chance to sing as we don’t get this opportunity on the Acting pathway

IDEA 2 –

  • Full company number
  • Spring Awakening
  • Bitch of living
  • Totally fucked
  • 16+ age restriction due to content?

IDEA 3 –

  • Verbatim style piece
  • Saints and sinners in a political manner?
  • Would be performed by Acting pathway students
  • Involves song ‘I can play with madness’ by Iron Maiden
  • Taking lyrics from political songs?

I think that Jack’s presentation went really well on the whole. There were a few technical difficulties during Jack’s presentation as he was the first person to share his ideas and I felt that he rushed into it a little, without checking things such as sound and links to see if they are in working order or not. This meant that the presentation didn’t flow as well as it could have and was a little ‘stop-starty’ Despite this, Jack remained calm and resolved the problems quickly and effectively to ensure that not too much disruption was caused. Jack also explained his ideas in a clear manner however occasionally contradicted himself, for example, he said that his third idea was politically based and then said that it wasn’t, which was a little confusing. I think that the idea of performing ‘Spring Awakening’ is a no for me as it is so over done and it’s something that people saw last year – they want to see something new, on the back of that, I love Jack’s first idea about ‘Saint Jimmy’ – I feel that it is a very upbeat number that would break the chain of dark pieces and fits the theme very well. Overall, Jack’s presentational skills were of a good standard, it was obvious he knew what he was talking about and gave a strong pitch, however at times he would fiddle with his hands a little but nevertheless grounded with himself and worked around the issues he was faced with – and that is something I must commend.

Josh Ely: (Video 11 on playlist)

IDEA 1 –

  • Pop up scenes – I presume these are scenes scattered throughout the performance?
  • Based on someone who he knows that turned from good to bad having suffered with a prolonged drug addiction
  • Open to ideas – Doesn’t mind how it’s presented or cast
  • He took inspiration from ‘The Basketball Diaries’ – Something he was recommended to watch when in audition class after college.

IDEA 2 –

  • Inspired by a domestic abuse video Helena shared
  • Dance – Frantic Assembly style (Chair duets)
  • Performed by Josh and Sian?
  • Relationship between a saint and a sinner and how it becomes a situation that is ou of control

IDEA 3 –

  • Short scenes from ‘entertaining Mr Sloane’ and ‘Shopping and Fucking’
  • Group of 6-10 people
  • No casting ideas
  • Wants Erica to direct

Overall I think Josh gave a strong presentation to us, he explained what his ideas were very clearly, however, much like Jack, I felt that he rushed into his presentation a little too quickly and as there were lots of tabs open, it meant that his presentation didn’t move on as smoothly as he would have liked. Moreover, the batteries in the camera ran out half way through filming Josh’s presentation, therefore he had to stop what he was doing and pick up again once Leah was able to start to refilm. I felt that Josh dealt with the situation extremely well and kept calm under the circumstances, However, at times Josh expressed closed body language and crossed arms, almost like he was apologising for his proposal. I think he needed to have more faith in his ideas as they are very well thought out and actually link together well, not only that but they fit the theme perfectly and are great potential pieces to include in the final performance.

Jessica Last: (Video 18 on playlist)

IDEA 1 –

  • Dance duet about an abusive relationship
  • boy and girl
  • Herself, Tom or Scott?
  • Pentatonix music?

IDEA 2 –

  • Jukebox Musical
  • Structural Idea
  • Wants it to be non fragmented

IDEA 3 –

  • The Champion
  • Adapt the song lyrics and use them to form a monologue
  • No possible casting ideas

IDEA 4 –

  • Apples Philipa Hanna
  • About repenting sins
  • Duet and/or a solo?
  • Song is based on the theme of snow white

I believe that Jess gave a very clear presentation. All her ideas were straight to the point which made it much easier to understand what she was talking about straight away. At times I felt that she did rush the presentation due to a few nerves, this was also evident as she waited till the end in order to share her ideas as she didn’t want to get up in front of everyone and present right away, however, on the powerpoint Jess made, she only put key a precise information on her slides which made the overall presentation much cleaner and understandable on the whole. Jess also mainly had good body language when presenting her ideas although occasionally would put her arms in front of her and cross her arms, showing apologetic behaviour. Much like Josh, Jess needs to have faith in her ideas and presentation skills, I feel her pitch could have come across a little more confident if she had presented near the start instead of letting the worry build up until she had no option other than to get up and present. On the whole, I think Jess gave a strong presentation, personally I think, as we are having a variety acts style show, we wouldn’t be able to put on a jukebox musical. However, I really like her first idea about the domestic abuse dance. It can easily be linked to Josh’s idea and represents the theme very clearly with there being a distinctive good person and bad person.

Zoe Mills: (Video 14 on playlist)

IDEA 1 –

  • Split personality idea
  • The idea of the battle between schizophrenia and self control
  • Dance piece
  • Inspiration from the film ‘split’ where the character has multiple personalities
  • Dance uses 4 dancers on the dance pathway

IDEA 2 –

  • Dance
  • The song would be ‘Take me to church’ by Hozier
  • Lyrical style

IDEA 3 –

  • The purge
  • crime is legalised for 12 hours
  • 2 groups – 1 group who are saints and decide not to commit any crimes and another group who are sinners and commit lots of crimes, the first group would perform a lyrical dance and the second group would perform a hip hop/dance routine to a ‘purge song remix’

Zoe’s presentation was very clear and had some nice visuals which gave us a good indication of what she would like to create. She came across as a little too relaxed as at times she put her hands in her pockets and presented very casually. Moreover, many times she wouldn’t stop talking whilst changing over the slide therefore I feel that we could have missed vital information as she had her back to us and it was a little hard to hear her at times. Despite this, Zoe’s ideas were well thought out and all fit the theme we were given nicely, I like the balance between ideas for saints and ideas for sinners as I felt many people would primarily propose ideas for pieces that are for sinners as it is a little easier. Not only that, but I loved the idea of the Purge, I feel that it captures what we are trying to portray perfectly. I also feel that this could have been a structural idea as many people’s ideas would work alongside this when the sinners commit lots of sins, we could have Josh’s pop up scenes, lou’s melodrama etc.. and when the saints remain good, we could have Tom’s idea of Santa Fe, and Faye’s idea of Charlie’s angels. On the whole, I feel Zoe presented well but needed to be a little less casual when putting forward her ideas, although the ideas were well thought out, it was a shame we missed out on parts of explanations due to her back being turned on us, in future I would suggest she stops and moves the slide on before resuming talking and to ground herself a little more to ensure she doesn’t look too relaxed during her presentation.

Lou Rowe: (Videos 4 & 5 on the playlist)

IDEA 1 –

  • Structural idea
  • Two presenters that present each act to make everything link and transition together well

IDEA 2 –

  • Melodrama
  • Possible casting for the Acting pathway
  • Wants to use the Mike Leigh devising technique for devising the script and main plot of the piece
  • Clear good guy and bad guy to been shown in the characters
  • Wants to happen at the end of act 1 and then a cliffhanger over the interval and resume at the beginning of act 2 like a traditional melodrama

IDEA 3 –

  • Talking to terrorists
  • Verbatim style
  •  A duet or a cast of 4
  • Monologue? Acting piece? Song?

On the whole, I feel Lou’s presentation went really well, all of her ideas were explained well and she applied the techniques we learnt in Lynn’s lesson very nicely. However, I feel that the presentation itself was very rushed and was over in a minutes, I would have liked Lou to have gone into a little more detail about her ideas and I feel that she made several points but didn’t elaborate on them very well, despite this, Lou’s presentation was a success overall and I really enjoyed listening to her ideas. I love the idea of having a melodrama in the performance as it clearly shows the ‘sinner side’ and the ‘saint side’ which works well with the theme of our performance. At times, Lou spoke very quickly so it was a little hard to understand what she was saying, but never the less, the ideas were well thought out and presented on the powerpoint, my only gripe would be that I didn’t understand the ‘Talking to terrorists’ idea as I was unclear as to whether or not the piece would be a monologue, movement piece, whole class acting piece or adapted as a song. In future, I feel Lou should slow down when presenting and ensure everything she is saying is clear and concise.

Scott Truin: (Video 19 on the playlist)

IDEA 1 –

  • City Of Stars
  • Song
  • Baritone/Tenor and a Mezzo Soprano
  • Duet between Tom and Jess?
  • Perhaps adapted into a dance with an epilogue?

IDEA 2 –

  • Heathers the musical
  • ‘Our love is god’ and ‘seventeen’ duet
  • Song
  • Scenes between the two songs
  • Seventeen – Doesn’t want to kill anyone anymore, showing reversible change from sinner to saint

IDEA 3 –

  • Heathens – Twenty One Pilots
  • Music video is set in a prison
  • The son is featured in the film ‘Suicide Squad’

IDEA 4 –

  • Nightclub
  • Structural idea
  • Bistro turned into a pre-drinks bar
  • Actors on the door as bouncers
  • Hands are stamped or wristbands instead of tickets to make it more realistic
  • The nightclub is called ‘Saints and Sinners’

Scott has some really good ideas that fit extremely well with our theme, however on many occasions, he didn’t explain his ideas clearly or fully which resulted in him being asked several questions repeatedly as many of the peers and tutors didn’t understand his proposed ideas. From a presentational view, Scott had a good use of body language and grounded himself well, he spoke clearly and naturally applied many of the skills we were taught the day before without thinking twice. Scott presented casually yet not too informally that the audience we not engaged with what he was saying – which I feel was a good balance to have. As for the ideas themselves, I really like the nightclub structural idea as it is open to many interpretations. Personally, I feel that the nightclub would be purgatory and at the end of the night, the fate of the ‘punters’ is decided. I also feel that a lot of Scott’s ideas are Sinner side heavy and it would be nice to have had an equal balance or ideas for Saints and Sinners.

Hannah King: (Video 12 on the playlist)

IDEA 1 –

  • Bad Girls Musical
  • This is my life – 3 characters that just want to be good
  • 2 girls 1 boy
  • I shouldn’t be here – 3 main girls

IDEA 2 –

  • Twisted games by David Lawrence
  • Adapting a song into a scene using the lyrics as a script
  • Devil speaking the scene
  • Haunting song
  • There is a young girl covered in blood
  • Acting piece with a cast of 3?

IDEA 3 –

  • Loot by Joe Oreton
  • Mary MCleavey kills many of her husbands
  • Contains a few extracts from the play
  • Could be linked with Josh’s pop up scenes, each extract could be a pop up scene in it’s own right

I feel Hannah’s presentation was very concise and clear. She explained her ideas very well and they are all very fitting for the overall theme. Hannah presented her ideas confidently and made eye contact with the audience which made us feel more at ease yet engaged with what she was saying. My favourite idea Hannah proposed was ‘Bad Girls’ Musical idea. I like the idea of having Sinners who just want to be saints, I feel this represents a good balance of the theme and would link with other ideas also, However, I didn’t particularly understand Hannah’s second idea involving the twisted games – David Lawrence idea. I think that using the lyrics as a script for the scene is a nice idea but I don’t understand how the idea would be developed, casted and performed. Overall, Hannah gave a strong presentation and displayed her ideas thoroughly, she had good body language and spoke clearly and with clarity. The presentation ran smoothly and was straight to the point.

Tom Barber: (Video 9 on the playlist)

IDEA 1 –

  • Merrily we roll along
  • Ensemble song
  • Use 3 sessions roughly of Paul’s choir to learn the song
  • Characters are picking Franklin up after a breakup between himself and his wife

IDEA 2 –

  • Beautiful city – Godspell
  • Starts off as a male solo
  • The purpose of the song is to lift spirits
  • Religious

IDEA 3 –

  • Santa Fe – Newsies
  • Solo with Tom as casting
  • About overcoming the establishment and motivating his friends and making their lives better as well as their own

Overall, I think that Tom’s presentation was very well put together and his ideas were clearly explained. The overall display of his presentation ran fluidly and it was evident that he had planned his presentation thoroughly. However, at times I felt that Tom’s body language was very very relaxed, as he sat on the table by the board, he managed to get his personality across although he made the presentation itself seem much more informal that it should have been. Despite this, Tom’s general ideas were fantastic. I really like the Santa Fe and Merrily we roll along ideas as they are ideal for fitting the theme and could also be combined with other ideas easily, meaning they are very adaptable. He gave us a breakdown of each idea and how he intended to use his time devising each piece. Tom also had very clear visuals within his presentation which made the ideas much more easier to understand and see what the end goal was that Tom wanted to achieve. A picky note for the future that I have for Tom is to explore other ideas other than songs, although we should have pieces to show off our skills, we still need pieces to challenge us. I feel that for Tom, if he were to partake in a dance piece, it would push him to improve on his skills, which after all is the aim to complete throughout our time at Conservatoire East. As I feel he already has an amazing talent in singing and acting, personally, I’d like to see Tom stretch himself for this final project.

Harry Ladell: (Video 3 on the playlist)

IDEA 1 –

  • The Knights Templar
  • Bar scene
  • Violent situation
  • Mainly devised from improvisation

IDEA 2 –

  • Gollums song
  • Sung by 1 person but with two personalities
  • Split personality
  • 1 singer and 2 dancers as the casting
  • Dancers represent each personality and the struggle the person faces having a split personality disorder?
  • Could be adapted into a monologue or duologue?

IDEA 3 –

  • Lokesanna
  • Dialogue
  • Involves the pagan God – Thor
  • High energy piece
  • Harry would like to cast himself in it
  • Inspired by a poem called Lokesanna
  • Loki has been invited to dinner with other gods and he has decided that he will spend his time insulting the other gods
  • Adapted from the poem although some of the original text to be performed
  • Open to any adaptation ideas from anyone

Harry’s ideas were very clearly presented and all fit the theme well, although he did not have a Powerpoint presentation, I feel that he didn’t need one as he knew what he was talking about and explained his ideas thoroughly. Moreover, Harry spoke with clarity and passion when presenting his ideas – which instantly made the audience feel more inclined to listen. On the other hand, Harry wasn’t particularly well grounded when presenting as he moves around the space a lot. I also feel that he didn’t explain his Knights Templar idea as well as he could have which left me a little confused as to what the actual point and idea was. I personally love the Lokesanna idea as it is easily adaptable to fit with other ideas, not only that, but the idea of using a poem for a stimulus is a brilliant way, as we could write things about other ideas in the poem in order to link everything together to make a show.

Emma Croft: (Video 6 on the playlist)

IDEA 1 –

  • Jekyll and Hyde
  • song – Facade, lyrics teach a lesson that you don’t always expect someone to turn out a certain way when they do
  • Bring on the men – all female number

IDEA 2 –

  • Prince of Egypt
  • Jess Last and Beth Easdown as female duet as they have the same pitch and range (Both Sopranos)
  • About having some faith
  • The plagues song – Has two male leads

IDEA 3 –

  • The Hunchback of Notre Dame
  • Heavenslight and Hellfire songs
  • thought a little about casting but doesn’t have a definite idea yet

On the whole, Emma gave a very strong presentation with a firm description of her ideas, I understood everything that she was saying and how it fit and linked with the theme, the Powerpoint presentation itself was very well laid out and easy to read and process. However, at times I felt that Emma looked to the slides for comfort when performing which meant we didn’t actually get to hear everything that she had to say as her head was turned a lot, despite this, it was evident Emma knew what she was talking about and put contributed some very usable ideas. I really liked Emma’s Jekyll and Hyde idea and felt that it fit the themes well, not only that, but she thought about casting thoroughly and I would agree with the decisions that she made. On the other hand, I felt that Hunchback of Notre Dame was not an idea I would particularly like to be used in the performance as it is a Disney piece and very overdone, not only that but getting the rights to perform it would be a nightmare, therefore this idea wasn’t necessarily thought at as well as it could have been. On the whole, I really enjoyed Emma’s presentation, but felt she could have grounded herself a little more and made more eye contact with the audience to make the presentation a little more robotic. I also felt that Emma needed to have more faith in her ideas as they were good contributions to the project.

Chloe Gilbert: (Video 8 on the playlist)

IDEA 1 –

  • Dance piece
  • Lyrical style
  • Male for Romeo female for Juliet
  • Two lovers are held apart from each other as one is an angel and the other is a demon
  • Song by Melissa otero ‘angels and demons’ – 3:44 mins
  • Song is sung by a female talking about how she has two sides to her??? Doesn’t seem to relate to the idea she proposed about lovers not being able to be together
  • Took inspiration as she did the dance at her dance school
  • Romeo and Juliet
  • Romeo is a demon
  • Juliet is an angel

IDEA 2 –

  • Take me to church dance
  • Physical theatre dance
  • Taken from the original music video
  • Involving two males fighting for gay rights

IDEA 3 –

  • Beauty and the beast medley
  • whole company number
  • Belle to be played by Jess and the beast to be played by Tom
  • Tutor led
  • Paul as the Musical Director

I think Chloe’s presentation gave a concise representation of her ideas, they all linked with the theme nicely and are adaptable. From a presentational view, Chloe was very enthusiastic about her ideas which showed she had faith in them, which in turn so did we. On the whole Chloe’s presentational skills are relatively good and her Powerpoint was well put together, however she did have too much information on the screen, she also used cue cards to keep track which was a very good way to present without having to turn and look at the screen, thus meaning we wouldn’t be able to hear her as clearly. She also had some really good visuals on the screen but didn’t always show us these and I’m not entirely sure why. I really like Chloe’s idea involving the take me to church dance as it is open to so many different interpretations, are they sinners for fighting for gay rights? or are they saints? – depending on people’s views. On the back of that, I felt that the Beauty and the beast medley wasn’t necessarily appropriate for the performance as although it shows a clear ‘goodie’ and ‘baddie’ – Once again it is Disney and being able to get the rights to perform the piece would be a lot of hassle, not only that but it is also very overdone. On the other hand, I really liked the Romeo and Juliet idea, I think it fits the theme well, shows a clear undergoing story about the love between a bad person and a good person and how it can be toxic – thus sending out a clear message to the audience watching the piece about the dangers of toxic relationships.

Sophia Lerigo: (Video 14 on the playlist)

IDEA 1 –

  • Based upon an already existing musical
  • Monologue?
  • Song and dancers?

IDEA 2 –

  • Dance battle between good and bad
  • Music – Anastasia instrumental??
  • MT and Dancers casting

IDEA 3 –

  • Improvisation
  • Dating couples who are opposites – stereotypical (a cheerleader and a goth)
  • Based on ‘The restaurant game’

I was a little disappointed with Sophia’s presentation as she didn’t explain her ideas as clearly as I had hoped. At times I couldn’t follow or understand what all her ideas were. However, when looking at Sophia’s presentational skills, she stayed fairly grounded and made good eye contact with the audience, which made her come across as being quite confident. However, I felt that on a whole, her presentation was a little rushed and not particularly thought out as well as I know it could have been. Despite this, I did like Sophia’s idea of having a dance battle between good and bad. I’m not sure I like the idea of the choice of music and I also feel she needs to develop this idea much more as it was very vague, however the basis is there and easily expandable. Personally, I felt that Sophia’s idea was more of an exercise to use when devising a piece and not actually fit to be a piece in it’s own right.

Leah Smith: (Video 10 on the playlist)

IDEA 1 –

  • The school of good and evil
  • Two characters – Agnes and Agatha
  • The two girl appear to be in the wrong schools as the one wearing pink is in the school for bad and the one wearing black is in the school for good
  • Teaches us not to judge a book by its cover – They may look good but inside they’re in fact bad and vice versa

IDEA 2 –

  • The Hunchback Of Notre Dame
  • Hellfire
  • Song
  • Duet with Beth Easdown and Tom Barber
  • 1 dancer (Esmeralda) who is dancing in the fire

IDEA 3 –

  • Mordred’s Lullaby
  • Song
  • Back story : song talks about her hoping to raise her child in the hope he will kill king Arthur
  • Singer and dance as well?
  • Could adapt the lyrics to make a monologue?

On the whole I believe that Leah’s presentational skills have improved a lot throughout the course of this year. Leah gave a relatively clear presentation and put forward some nice ideas. However, at times it was hard to understand what Leah was saying due to an improvement needed in her diction and articulation. She also moved around a lot and sat down which made the presentation a little more informal that intended, not only that, I felt that Leah’s ideas were well thought out, but were not strong enough to stand on their own as I feel they could have been planned a little better. I really liked the School of good and evil idea as I felt that it really captured the theme and sends out an important message, I also believe Leah’s ideas could be combined with other people’s ideas in order to build them to be stronger as the basic idea is there and is what we are looking for, however just need a little support

Sian Davis: (Video 13 in the presentation)

IDEA 1 –

  • Hymns
  • Option 1 – washed in the blood – cleansing the soul – small group
  • Option 2 – abide with me – small group – well known song
  • Option 3 – firm foundation – ensemble number – happy

IDEA 2 –

  • Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers
  • Saints of the 40s
  • ‘Let’s call the whole thing off’ – song
  • Tap/waltz dance instead of roller skates like in original
  • Song lyrics explore both
  • Sian and Scott or Tom

IDEA 3

  • The 7 deadly sins
  • Based on religion
  • Each sin has it’s own piece
  • Each of the pieces are scattered throughout the performance

Overall I thought Sian’s presentation went extremely well, however she spoke extremely quickly and at times she was a little unclear. Nevertheless, her presentation and Powerpoint was well thought out and her ideas were very fitting with the theme. I found Sian to be a little robotic during her presentation probably due to nerves. I feel Sian also needed to have a little more faith in her ideas as they are great. Personally, I like the idea of singing the Hymns which would give a light overtone to the show after the dark nature of some of the pieces. It was also interesting to see Sian’s interpretation about the 7 deadly sins and the similarities and differences between our ideas. I feel that Sian had put a lot of effort into her presentation and had some nice visuals which gave the audience a better sense of what she wanted her pieces to look and sound like. Overall, I thought Sian gave a strong performance, she just needed to relax a little.

James Ingram: (Video 7 on the playlist)

IDEA 1 –

  • Moral dilemma between right and wrong
  • There’s a party and a boy faces a dilemma at the party about whether he should take advantage or a drunk girl or not
  • Serious piece?
  • Josh, Himself, Jack and Harry as casting?

IDEA 2 –

  • Piece based on Star Wars
  • Evil establishment
  • Willing to do evil for the sake of good?
  • Monologue
  • Already had a Star Wars costume therefore it’s a low budget

IDEA 3 –

  • Based on a true story
  • Fighting ISIS
  • Ryan Lock – character and who the story is based on
  • British chef who told his family he was going on holiday to Turkey however joined to fight against ISIS with the kurds
  • Group acting piece that could also be turned into a monologue
  • Devised by us
  • Could also be a song? – Erica and Lynn suggested Dr Faustus
  • Harry suggested the song guilty of coincidence

I felt that James presented his ideas very clearly, not only that but his presentation skills have improved greatly. I noticed that he took into account the skills Lynn had previously taught us and applied them very well, he also made good eye contact with the audience and it was evident that he understood what he was talking about, James was very grounded throughout his presentation and delivered some great ideas that are adaptable, usable and suit the theme well. It is clear James had thought out his ideas thoroughly. However, at times he didn’t explain quite fully what his idea was, for example his first idea about moral dilemma was very vague and I didn’t understand what the actual idea was at one point, however since watching the video back, I have realised that this idea could fit in with the ‘Nightclub’ idea as a girl gets drunk and in both scenarios, alcohol is involved. I also thought that James’ idea involving fighting ISIS was also good as it was very different to the other suggestions and is also very open to being built on and made stronger as an idea within itself with the help of other peers. I feel James presented the basics strongly but could have gone into a little more detail.

Beth Easdown: (Video 17 on the playlist)

IDEA 1 –

  • Song – Rebel
  • Duet
  • singer with a dancer to accompany the piece altogether
  • Open to all pathways

IDEA 2 –

  • 7 deadly sins – Personification of each sin into a character
  • Pretty much the exact same idea as mine that I discussed in the group commission lesson after taking inspiration from ‘Inside Out’ (8.03.17) except my idea also included the 7 virtues

IDEA 3 –

  • Will I from RENT the musical
  • Song to be sang in a round
  • Could also possibly be displayed as an AA meeting?

As expected Beth pulled off a great presentation. She spoke with passion and clarity. It was evident that she knew precisely what she was talking about and what she wanted to tell the group. She also explained her ideas thoroughly with a well thought out powerpoint presentation. She also explained how each of her ideas would fit into the performance. Beth also stayed grounded throughout her presentation and came across as confident and natural yet not too natural that the pitch became informal. Beth has amazing presentational skills and captured the audience’s attention the entire time she was presenting her ideas. Personally, I think all of Beth’s ideas are usable and good ideas, they all fit the theme very well and could be developed to link with other people’s proposals.

Leave a Reply

